Quilts

001

Back in the day, I made TWO Sesame Street baby quilts for my niece and nephew. I think I made these quilts around the years 2000-2001. I completed them both by myself and by hand. No sewing machine except the binding on the edges.

002

These photos are of my nephew’s quilt. My niece’s quilt is identical to his except it has pink gingham on the binding. You can see above the blue gingham (on the sides) used for his binding. I choose not to use borders in the quilt because the quilt would have become enormous.

003

Both quilts are personalized for them. I hand pieced (or appliqued) the characters together. Big Bird and the count were the most time consuming with a lot of little pieces to stitch. I could tell where I made mistakes but my family could not tell.

004

The quilt has 30 blocks. It was too big to put in one photo but you can see many of the characters in the photos above. This photo has a picture of the book I used to make the quilt (laying on the quilt). I added some more characters to my quilts by using my niece and nephew’s coloring books to make templates of the extra Sesame Street characters. The book is called quilting with the Muppets. When I was a kid, I use to watch the Muppet Show every Saturday night at 7 or 8 pm. I use to watch Sesame Street and the Electric Company too…1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10-11-12…remember that pin ball machine that ended on the number 12 on the Electric Company Show?

005

I’m thinking about opening an online store, maybe? I still have A LOT of fabric from back in the day in my closet. This is just the tip of the ice burg so to speak in the above picture. I’m in a different place in life now so I’m thinking of making a bible quilt with scriptures (maybe the 10 commandments) on it……

*I know about elmo being el molech and so do my niece and nephew.

Published by blessedwomanofyah

Shalom, my name is AshantiYAH. I am a servant of the Most High Yah and His son Yahoshua. I am a messianic Israylite. My hometown is T'zion.

Leave a comment