Israelite Customs for Marriage

Last year, I helped my niece do a report on Mali for World Geography. While researching we read about a group of nomads that live sometimes in the Mali region called The Fulani. Fulani women are famous for wearing golden earrings attached to red thread. They wear them in their ears or hair. Only married Fulani women wear them, given to them on their wedding day from their husband to be.

This is the cover of one of the books we used for her report. The Fulani lady has her earrings attached to her hair as a symbol that she belongs to a man. Off topic: the blue around her mouth is some kind of paint that they paint on.

Here is a picture of Fantasia wearing Fulani earrings around 2009 or 2010 (?). They have become fashionable for sistas to wear in the United States.

Another Picture of the Fulani earrings

Last week while in Shabbat Scripture Study, the Israelites were talking about wedding rings. They said they were a pagan custom. This was something I did not know. They quoted this scripture: Genesis 24:22, So it was when the camels had finished drinking that the man (Isaac) took a golden nose ring weighing half a shekel and two bracelets for her (Rebekah) wrists weighing ten shekels of gold. The Israelites said this was the custom back then, for a man to give his wife this type of jewelry as a sign of marriage, much like the Fulani whom I had read about. It does seem uncouth today but I think I could wear a bracelet instead of a ring. I don’t think I would look good with a nose ring though, LOL. People did, however, wear rings back then but not wedding rings. Pharaoh gave Joseph a ring as a sign of power, Genesis 41:42, Solomon used a ring to control the demons in the Pseudepigrapha vol. 1, Testament of Solomon pages 960-987 *(I edited here because originally the Israelites said there was no ring and that Solomon used only his authority but now they say there was a ring of authority which makes sense now because Yah gave signet rings spiritual and physical. See my post called ‘the signet ring’) and in the parable of the lost son, the dad puts a ring on the son that returned to him, Luke 15:22. *Judah gave Tamar his signet ring, cord and staff as a pledge in Genesis 38:16-18.

So where does the wedding ring come from? I found the following on the web: The wedding ring cannot be found in the law or testimonies (old and new testaments). The wedding ring comes from paganism. Ancient Idol (statues) wore rings. Pope Gregory I, in 860  AD decreed that as a required statement of nuptial intent, the groom to be had to give his intended an engagement ring. He further decreed the ring be of gold to signify financial sacrifice. The first diamond engagement ring was given by King Maximilian in 1477 to Mary of Burgundy. Wedding rings can be traced to idols and heathen religions. So the wearing of wedding rings is the practice of Idolatry because you are being like the Idol or doing as the Idol does.

The wedding ring is a circle which is said to mean eternal or unending. Marriages were never eternal in The Scriptures but rather until death. Afterward a spouse could be married again, for example, after Sarah died Abraham married Keturah. The wedding ring originated in Babylon. The oldest ring found is in the shaped of the eternal serpent.  The Image of the serpent biting its own tail to form the circle. They also worshipped circles, maybe in the place of the sun and moon.

This is an image of the serpent ring

The Israelites did wear jewelry. Remember Yah expressed His love for Israelites in Ezekiel 16:1-14 I adorned you with ornaments, put bracelets on your wrists and a chain on your neck. and I put a jewel in your nose, earrings in your ears and a beautiful crown on your head. Thus you were adorned with gold and silver… the Israelites are married to Yah. We are to have no other before Him.

Um, well, LOL, I guess my husband-to-be  and I will be exchanging bracelets at our ceremony before Yah. When you know better, you do better. I learn so much being around the Israelites, our people, and I know it is because of Yah.

*If you came into the truth with wedding bands, save them. You may need that gold, silver or platinum for bartering when the economy crashes.

*Please read the White Linen post parts 1 & 2.

*08/17/2016: A reader recently commented that Gregorius Anicius lived during the Byzantine times and that the above information is not correct. That may be true but one thing still stands… the Gentiles created wedding rings not the Israylites. Wedding rings are not in the bible…

17 thoughts on “Israelite Customs for Marriage

  1. As I am studying on this day of shabbat it is refreshing to find my sisters in yah teaching on the nose ring. I am married and would like to have a nose ring as symbol of my marriage;however, my job says that we cannot have nose piercings and I am really disappointed in this rule.

    • Shabbat Shalom Victoriyah, may Yah bless and keep you and your family on this set apart day in the name of Yahoshua. I pray the situation with nose ring will work out for you and thank you for visting my blog.

  2. Thank you for writing this article. I am looking to get back to my roots before we were slaves. I have been researching this for a few months and I believe God wants his children to go back to how we did it in the bible. Not following paganistic ways. I will be getting my nose ring and bracelets! #BeBlessed

  3. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog
    and wished to say that I have truly enjoyed
    browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed
    and I hope you write again very soon!

  4. so could i (since im already married and just came into the knowledge of the wedding band statute) could i wear my rings on a bracelet?

    • I think ahkotee, that you should discuss this with your husband (and your husband go to Yah through Yahoshua). Wedding rings are a custom of the nations (and Yah says we are to be set-apart) but if you were already wearing them when you came into the truth, you may want to keep them on or put them on a bracelet as you said. There is no statue (or law) saying thou shall or shall not wear wedding rings. Some of us even came into the truth with tattoos and Yah still works (has mercy) with us. Yah goes by what’s on our hearts most of all. I hope that helps. Yah bless.

  5. You’re absolutley right. i have them on a bracelet at the moment. I thank th Most High for such mercy because i have quite a few tattoos. His mercy endures forever. Thank you for your input.

  6. Wow. I’ve come into the word awhile ago and long before this, I had been telling my fiance I wanted to pierce my nose…But now err are about to be married next month and this just gives me reason……What type of bracelets are we to share or wear and is it for the men?

    • Congratulations on your engagement. The Set-apart Spirit must have been upon you, you wanting to pierce your nose for marriage. Genesis 24:22 just says that the two bracelets weighed ten shekels of gold (they possibly could have not been gold) but the Israylites did like to wear gold, read Numbers 31:50 and since the nose ring was gold that was given to Ribkeyah, the bracelets were most likely gold. This was most likely a custom and not a law, so if you can’t afford gold right now, just do the best you can. King Shaul in 2 Shemuyah 1:10 had a bracelet but I am unsure if it represented marriage, it could have but I kind of doubt it. It was probably just for his own pleasure. Could you imagine King Solomon walking around with a thousand bracelets on? LOL, that might look kind of ridiculous. How could he get anything done with all those bracelets on? Although, Israylite men could have possibly worn ornaments to show that they were married to Yah because Yah said ‘He adorned you’ in gold and silver, in Yahezqyl chapter 16. Hmm, this was a good thought-provoking question.

      HTH

    • I have not read where Israylite men wore ornaments to show that they were married to a woman or women. But I did read where Yah said that He put ornaments on the Israylites in Yahezqyl chapter 16. That shows belonging to Him. I don’t think there is a law against giving your husband an ornament, if you all want to wear them.

  7. It’s actually a great and helpful piece of information. I’m happy that you shared this useful information with us.

    Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

