In the Garden: Cabbages and Roses

043

Carrots, cabbage and potatoes today.

044

A close view of the cabbages. Last week I put Epsom salt in a watering can and fed the whole garden. The cabbages and all the vegetation responded immediately. I did this after reading an old garden book where the gardener said all old folks did was put Epsom salt, compost and manure in the garden to fertilize. That’s it! They did not use fancy, science-y fertilizers back in the day. Hopefully this year I will finally start my own compost bin.

045

A close view of the potatoes on the other side of the cabbages. We use to eat cabbage and cornbread with our fingers back in the day! Finger-licking good.

046

New roses. The rose on top is called American Beauty, or something like that. I bought it because it’s hot pink. The other rose is another lavender Angel Face rose, so now I have two purple roses.

047

Marigold pot.

048

New lemon tree. It’s similar to Meyer lemons but its not a Meyer lemon. I will place this lemon tree near the Ponderosa lemon tree.

049

The Hamlin orange tree has gotten a little bigger and greener because of the Epsom salt.

050

Brown sugar daylilies. I hope they put on a good show this year.

051

The old Ponderosa lemon tree. I gave it a good,hard pruning back in January. It’s looking good so far.

052

From left to right, yellow bell pepper, red bell pepper and jalapeno pepper. I was going to plant pepper seeds again but I changed my mind. Maybe next year I will plant from seeds using my little greenhouse. It’s too late to plant them from seed here where I live. I planted some back December (?) but some animal dug up my pepper seedlings. Every year like clock work, I plant peppers in the ground and something comes and eats them up. I got a trick this year! I put them in pots! We’ll see what happens.

I also planted a pineapple in the ground but I forgot to take a picture of it. I’m going to plant several pineapples in the same area. I’m thinking about planting corn, okra and onions from seeds.

Leave a Reply

