The Rock

Did you know that wrestler is not the original rock? The Israylites called Yah the rock. Yah is our spiritual rock not a literal rock to be worshipped. Remember Yah told us not to bow down to wood and stone. Don’t bow down to any images.  Yet Jewish people bow down to a wall or rock  called the western wall or gate of mercy. Did you know Muslims pray to a rock also? They pray to a black stone or rock in Mecca called the Kaaba. This is one reason why they pray towards the east, towards this rock. Muslims claim it descended from the sky from Michael to Abraham.  The Kaaba stone aligns with the star Canopus and the winter and summer solstices. The Dome of the rock is another rock that Muslims worship. It is a rocky area located within the mosque. They claim Muhammad ascended to Allah at this very site. Let’s read these scriptures together about the real rock.

Moses called Yah the rock: Deuteronomy 32:3-4 For I proclaim the name of Yah. Ascribe greatness to our Father. He is the rock, His work is perfect. For all His ways are justice. A Power of truth and without injustice. Righteous and upright is He. Also Deuteronomy 32:15-18.

Yesiyah called Yah the rock: Yesiyah (Isaiah) 17:10…and have not been mindful of the rock of your stronghold. Therefore you will plant pleasant plants and set out foreign seedlings. Yesiyah 26:4 Trust in Yah forever for in Yah the Father is everlasting strength (or Rock of Ages it says In the footnote). Yesiyah 44:8…Is there a Power besides Me? Indeed there is no other rock. I know not one.

Habakkuk called Yah the rock: Habakkuk 1:12 Are You not from everlasting O Yah my Power, my Set-apart One? We shall not die. O Yah, You have appointed them for judgment. O Rock, You have marked them for correction.

Hannah called Yah the rock in prayer: In 1 Samuel 2:2 For one is Set-apart like Yah. For there is none besides You nor is there any rock like our Power.

David called Yah the rock many times: Psalm 18:2 Yah is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer. Psalm 18:31…and who is a rock except our Yah? Psalm 18:46 Yah lives! Blessed be my Rock! Let Yah of my salvation be exalted.

Psalm 19:14 Let my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight O Yah my strength (rock) and my Redeemer.

Psalm 28:1 To You I will cry O Yah my Rock…

Psalm 31:3 For You are my rock and my fortress…

Psalm 42:9 I will say to Yah my Rock, why have You forgotten me? Why do I go mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?

Psalm 61:2 From the end of the earth I will cry to You, when my heart is overwhelmed lead me to the Rock that is higher than I. HalleluYah.

Psalm 62:2 He only is my rock and my salvation…

Psalm 62:6-7 He only is my rock and my salvation. He is my defense. I shall not be moved. In Yah is my salvation and my esteem. The Rock is my strength and my refuge is in Yah.

Psalm 71:3 Be my strong refuge to which I may resort continually. You have given the commandment to save me for You are my rock and my fortress.

Psalm 78:35 Then they remembered that Yah was their rock and the Most High Yah their Redeemer.

Psalm 89:26 He shall cry to Me, You are my Father, My Power and the Rock of my salvation.

Psalm 92:15 To declare that Yah is upright. He is my rock and there is no unrighteousness in Him.

Psalm 94:22 But Yah has been my defense and my Power, the rock of my refuge.

Psalm 95:1 Oh come let us sing to Yah! Let us shout joyfully to the Rock of our salvation.

Psalm 144:1 Blessed be Yah my Rock. Who trains my hands for war and my fingers for battle.

2 Samuel 22:32 For who is Power except Yah? And who is a Rock except our Yah?

2 Samuel 23:3 Yah of Ysrayl said, the Rock of Ysrayl spoke to me (David said). He who rules over men must be just, ruling in the fear of Yah.

So now we know Yah is the rock. We also know that Yahoshua did not pre-exist. So why does Shaul (Paul) say that Yahoshua was the rock in the wilderness? In 1 Corinthians 10:4…’and all drank the same spiritual drink. For they drank of that spiritual Rock that followed them and that Rock was Messiyah’. I remember when I first came into the truth, the camp I use to visit said Christ was in the wilderness and I have heard Christians saying this also. But Shaul was not saying Yahoshua was literally in the wilderness with the Israylites. What he is saying is symbolism.

Physical: In Exodus chapter 17, Yah told Moses to strike the rock for water. The prophet Zechariyah also told us in Zechariyah 13:7 that Yahoshua would be struck. And the apostle Yahcanan (John) told us in John 19:34 that Yahoshua was struck on His side and blood and water poured out like the water poured from the rock. Yahoshua was struck like the rock.

Spiritual: But in Numbers chapter 20 Moses was not supposed to strike the rock which he did. He was supposed to speak to the rock. Yah said Moses did not believe in Numbers 20:12. Yahoshua is the spiritual water, the living water  or the spiritual drink like the water that sprang from the rock Shaul was trying to explain in 1 Corinthians 10:4. Yah is the rock and Yahoshua is from Him, a rock also. Yahoshua does as Yah does, Father like Son John 5:19 says. Yah spoke everything into existence. When we speak we are to believe it will happen just as Matthew 21:22 and John 14:14 says through Messiyah. This is why Shaul calls Yahoshua the spiritual rock. Yahoshua was not there in the wilderness literally but they knew He was coming.

So now we know about Yah our rock and Yahoshua our spiritual rock. So why did Yahoshua call Shimon Ben Yonah…Kepha which means the rock? In Mattithyah 7:24-27 Yahoshua said to build your house on rock because it will still stand when the rain and floods come. Yahoshua is called the cornerstone in Mark 12:10, Psalm 118:22 and Exphesians 2:19-22. Then in Mark 16:18 Yahoshua calls Shimon Ben Yonah the rock or Kepha. Even though Kepha denied Messiyah 3 times, Yahoshua knew Kepha’s walk would be like that rock…speak to it and believe. Remember she wanted to touch Messiyah’s tassels and be healed similar to how they wanted to just see Kepha’s shadow and be healed in Acts 5:15-16. Kepha imitated Yahoshua’s walk. Kepha became a rock.

*These are just my notes on the rock so far. I may come back to add an overlooked scripture(s) or to make a correction if there is an error.

Leave a Reply

